My mother’s “ailment”

My mother has had this habit for the past 10 years and honestly it is quite baffling. One minute she is wide awake but as she is eating dinner it starts. Her eyes start to droop she stops talking about her day. She makes it to the couch (and if she is fortunate her bed) and falls a sleep. After that last bite she is looking for a place to rest. When she falls asleep on the couch I may try to wake her up because I know how bad her back pain will be or that she will have an unpleasant krink in her neck the next day(s). But she is stubborn  so there are times she’s there all night. I’m worried that this might be a medical condition and have tried to get her to see a doctor but she is so anti-doctor/hospital that there really isn’t much I can do. It isn’t a case of hypersomnia because she doesn’t sleep a lot. I’ve suggested Pavlovian conditioning but she laughs when I explained it to her. She just eats dinner…and sleeps immediately after…

cute_puppy_sleeping_in_food_bowl

Wish I knew what was wrong with my mom, 22 year old me

Leave a Reply

