Music has always been my friend

I don’t know what I would do without my music. Probably, loosing my mind under a rock somewhere. It’s probably the sole thing that has always been there. During every period of my life it’s been there. When I am sad, happy, angry, or calm, my music is always with me. If you see me chances are I am lisitening to music. Every celebration, milestone, heartbreak, my music has been blaring in the background to get me through. I don’t know where I would be without it.

I can’t say that I am a great singer. That I am even good at it. But it doesn’t take a lot of skill to sit back and plug-in and let yourself get lost in the music. Music has the power of being transcendent and non-judgemental. Sometimes I just loose myself, get lost in the lyrics and feel in awe that another human being is experiencing, or has experienced what I have, that they understand. Suddenly, I no longer feel so alone.

Maybe it’s because I never had constant presence in my life. Or consistency of those who are in my life. Maybe it’s because I always had to be everyone’s rock. But I can remember always having some genre, some artist, some album that sang to my soul and helped me stay myself and keep me grounded.

As I have grown my preferences have expanded and changed but I will never be ashamed of my music. It’s the part of me that truly sings to my soul. It’s the part of  me reflects all that I haven’t been able to say to others.

If you really want to know about me listen to my playlist. You will learn from it more than I can actually express in words.

 

Leave a Reply

